Frog it!

How do you feel about frogging your work?  As I have progressed with my knitting skills over the years it is something I have come to learn to live with.

For years I would avoid frogging like the plague.  I would live with mistakes that I knew were there or I would fudge the stitch count to try and make it work.  But over the last few years I have come to realise that if that jumper has a mistake in it I will know about it.  It will bug me.  And I won’t wear it as a consequence.

Sometimes there is a mistake which I just cannot stop looking at.  Like this jumper.

image_medium2

Can you see it?  I tried to wear it a few times but eventually decided to re-use the yarn rather than keep it in the cupboard unloved.

Sometimes it is because the fit is just all wrong.  I made this vest and it was far too big.  Again I knew I would never wear it so frogging was my only option.

image_medium2

This cardigan was frogged because I just could not get the collar to go right.  I always thought I would come back to it later, but I have never found the time.

image_medium2

The latest victim of frogging has been my Sage jumper by Marie Wallin.  I started it in the large size and have since lost a lot of weight.  Coupled with the fact that I had made a glaring error in the snowflakes I decided to pull it all out and make it in a smaller size.

image_medium2

Despite the fact I hadn’t got very far with it, this was one of the hardest things to frog for the sheer effort that had gone into the colour work.  But better to start again than to plod on through to end up with something that I wouldn’t be happy to wear anyway.

As I have been designing my own patterns I have had to do a lot of frogging.  Sometimes the yarn doesn’t behave how you would expect it to.  Sometimes the maths isn’t quite right and you end up with too many or too few stitches.  And sometimes the pattern just doesn’t look right.

What have you recently had to frog and how did you feel about it?

3 thoughts on “Frog it!

  1. Victoria Sol says:

    I don’t knit, so I don’t frog, but I have to redo chainmaille sometimes. Last night I spent two hours making a circle and then 50 minutes figuring out what mistake I had made and fixing it! Once I had found it, though, it only took me 20 minutes to redo the lost work, so it wasn’t that bad. 🙂

  2. thesequinnedsheep says:

    Frogging is horrible, I hate having to do it, but sometimes I do have to go back and correct mistakes. The worst is when you are nearly finished and then find a mistake right back near the beginning! Usually now I try to check my work as I go along so that I don’t have to go back too far if I have made a mistake!

  3. amandajones2013 says:

    Sometimes when designing things, you just don’t know how it will actually look until it is knit then you have to think, can I live with that or just frog it back until you get it how you wanted it. I have just been knitting a bag, in the round, got half way up and decided I really didn’t like the way it looked. Now I am glad I did it.

Leave a Reply

