Belated Happy New Year!

It has been a while since I last sat down to write.  Before Christmas I was busy knitting and writing the pattern for the item that is going to be in an American magazine.  Was so glad to get that all finished and sent off by the time the kids finished for the holidays!  More details about it in the summer.

Then it was family time.  The kids had finished school and my husband was on leave.  We only had a few days at home and then we drove the length of the country to spend the festivities with our best friends in Wales.  We had a fabulous time and were, as always, very sad to have to leave.

Since the New Year I have been trying to get the house back into order, the kids back into their routines and knitting a cardigan for Marie Wallin.  This week I was finally able to finish it and send it back to her.  It was Derwent from her Lakeside collection.  It is the second version of this jumper that I have knitted for her and I just love the complicated cables.  I knitted the original in the photos.  This is the version I have just sent back.

IMG_0410 IMG_0411 IMG_0412

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finishing this big project has left me some time to start designing my own patterns again.  This week I have finished and released two new patterns.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first was my Mathilde scarf.  It is knitted in a mohair/silk blend.  It is surprisingly warm, but so lightweight and soft.  I have been wearing my version everywhere and been getting lots of lovely compliments about it.  It is a short scarf, making it perfect to wear under a coat or jacket.  It fastens to the side with a button, but of course this is completely optional.  The diagonal pattern is very eye catching, but you will be amazed how easy the pattern is to pick up.

IMG_0280 IMG_0284

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The second pattern I released this week was for my Umberella Boot Cuffs.  This is a cute little pattern which will add a dash of personality to your favourite pair of boots.  They have a fab little umbrella motif which is knitted using the intarsia method.  It is a great pattern for your first try at this method, or if you want something quick to knit up one evening in front of the TV.  And they are great for stash busting as the pair take less than one ball of 100g yarn with just oddments for the motifs.

IMG_0265 IMG_0270 IMG_0273

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This morning I have been having a conversation with a fabulous lady SewAngelicThreads who loves to knit but it makes her hands hurt.  We discussed how using bigger needles and chunky yarn might help and this has inspired some ideas for future patterns.  Keep watching out for some new patterns!

All my patterns are available through Ravelry, Craftsy, Etsy and Love Knitting.  If you don’t knit yourself I can always make it through my Etsy shop.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Belated Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

