A Beginner’s Guide to Crochet

I started to learn to crochet about 2 years ago.  Was never as good at it as I was knitting so found it a real struggle.  Recently something just seemed to click and in the last few weeks I have really been ‘hooked’.  I have been flying with my crochet skills and making all sorts of things from my own patterns and designs – a point I never thought I would get to.

This week I have written down and released for sale my first crochet pattern and it is ideal for beginners.  So if you have always wanted to learn to crochet but didn’t know where to start I have the ideal project for you!

I designed this crochet scarf for my Etsy shop.  I started with a very dark green, then changed to a mid-green and a light green.  Finally I finished off with white as a contrast.  The thickness of the stripe changes to give it more interest than your average stripy scarf.

My crochet scarf available in my Etsy shop

Click to visit the scarf listing in my Etsy shop.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I absolutely loved making it and the finished item and so immediately started making one in pink.

Variegated scarf in pink

Variegated scarf in pink can be found here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am currently working on a brown version and have ordered yarn to make it in blue and black/grey.  But I enjoyed it so much I decided to write down the pattern and offer it for sale in my Etsy shop.

I started by writing the pattern itself which was little more difficult than I had anticipated.  I had it all in my head but getting it down in words that real humans will understand was another matter entirely.  Eventually I was happy and decided that because the pattern is ideal for beginners I would add a guide on how to crochet with it.  When you purchase the pattern via download in my Etsy shop you will also receive the crochet guide with it.

The variegated scarf pattern is for sale here.

The variegated scarf pattern is for sale here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I set about taking some photos first.  This was a little tricky being in the house on my own, needing two hands to crochet and another to hold the camera.  Some of the photos turned out interesting to say the least, but eventually I had what I needed.

I started with how to hold the hook, making a slip knot and a foundation chain.

The Pencil Method of holding a crochet hook.

The Pencil Method of holding a crochet hook

A foundation chain.

A foundation chain.

 

How to make a slip knot.

How to make a slip knot.

 

I then moved on to the two stitches which are used in the scarf pattern, double crochet and treble crochet.

Working a double crochet (dc).

Working a double crochet (dc).

A finished sample of dc.

A finished sample of dc.

 

Working a treble crochet (tr)

Working a treble crochet (tr)

A finished sample of tr.

A finished sample of tr.

 

 

Hopefully it will be of use to someone who has never tried to crochet before and a good supplement to my pattern.  Of course there are some people who prefer to learn by watching and You Tube has lots of fantastic videos which are ideal for the beginner.   This video is good, taking you right from the beginning holding the yarn and hook.

If you would like a free copy of my beginners guide to crochet then you can download it here for free! Beginner Crochet Guide

 

2 thoughts on “A Beginner’s Guide to Crochet

  1. jillyrosie says:

    The scarf is beautiful. I have always wanted to learn to crochet and I can do a chain but that is it. I will give your pattern a try when I have a little more time. PS. Your nails are lovely.

Leave a Reply

