World – I am back!

Well hello one and all! It has been such a long time since we spoke you have probably forgotten who I am!!

A quick update on my life over the last few months. I have been doing some supply teaching at my friend’s school, to cover maternity leave. Once again, I loved the children and the teaching but the bureaucracy was getting in the way of the teaching. So I am now unemployed. I am much happier being a stay at home mum and maybe doing the odd day of supply here and there. Maybe.

I have signed up to do City & Guilds Level 3 Hand Knitting. My first task was to knit 6 swatches using different cast on & cast off methods. Bit of a major panic at first as I only knew a couple. They are all knitted and displayed now though. I especially enjoyed the picot point and the Icelandic cast off.

20131017-230433.jpg. Some examples ready for assessment. I am currently writing detailed notes on all the swatches and that will be task 1 finished. On to selvedges in task 2. I bought some lovely yarn to knit the next batch of swatches from!

20131017-230651.jpg

I am also taking part in a test knit of a pattern. I signed up for this through Ravelry. I am sent the pattern for free and in return I knit the garment and feedback to the designer. It is a lovely cardigan, knitted on circular needles, top down and seamless. I have just taken the sleeve stitches off the main needles and placed them on waste yarn whilst I carry on with the rest of the body. The yarn is lace weight and knitted on 3.25mm needles so it is taking a while but it is looking gorgeous.

I promise I will keep you all up to date with my exploits more often in future!

20131017-231301.jpg

Leave a Reply

