Hello world!

A Big Hello To Anyone Who May Be Reading This!!

First of all let me introduce myself.  My name is Emma, a very common name for a person of my age, which happens to be changing tomorrow!  I am currently 35, so I am sure you can do the maths involved!  How would I describe myself?  Well first of all I guess I am a mother.  I have two beautiful children.  My son is called Callum and he is 10.  He has autism which can make life challenging at times, but he has such an amazing heart that you cannot help but love him.

My daughter is called Caitlin and she is 8.  Her major flaw is that she is the messiest and slowest person that I know, but she is so amazing you can forgive her that!  If you want her to tell you something be prepared to be in for the long haul as she will never use 10 word when 100 will do!! 🙂 

Secondly I guess I would describe myself as a wife.  I have been married for 13 years in just over a week, but it barely seems possible.  I told my husband last week that come the end of February I will have been with him longer than I was without him before we met.  18 years gone in the blink of an eye.  Where does the time go?

I guess next I would have to tell you about my career.  I am a primary school teacher, currently placed in Y6.  It is a tough year for the teachers, but I suspect even tougher for the children.  If my son’s rapidly deteriorating behaviour is anything to go by.  SATs, hormones, choosing secondary school, the wait to find out if you got in and then at the end of all that the wrench when you have to say goodbye to some good friends that you have known since 3 years old, possibly for the last time ever.  It is no wonder that the last day of the summer holidays ends up as a crying fest, and I can assure you the teachers end up joining in too!!

My big passion is for making things.  My nana taught me to knit when I was a little girl.  I remember I would do a row and then hand my work back to her to do a row because I didn’t know how to ‘go backwards’.  Clever nana tricked me and did two rows – strange the things that astound a child and even stranger that this has stayed with me for all those years.  I get very bored easily and so most of my work is very eclectic.  You will find me trying my hand at all sorts of different things.  My mind is constantly buzzing with different ideas.  My husband just bought me the most gorgeous electronic sewing machine for Christmas.  And so now I need to learn how to use it!!  I have made a start but it is gonna take a long time before I can produce anything to be really proud of.

 

6 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Dayz says:

    This is a lovely blog piece, I can really relate to your daughter with the messiness and also the 100 words instead of 10……. ask my boyfriend! 😉

Leave a Reply

